Beautiful Creatures Discussion Wrap-up

SPOILER WARNING: This post details the plot of the book Beautiful Creatures. If you have not read the book and don’t want to know what happens, don’t read any further.

I can’t believe this is over!!!!!! I really fell in love with this book and I’m so grateful to you both for hosting this discussion and encouraging me to read it. It’s an excellent story and I’m sorry that our time discussing it is coming to an end. :(
~ One Pushy Fox

Yes, ladies, this is the official end of the Beautiful Creatures book discussion. Many thanks to all our guest posters and commenters, because there would have been no discussion if not for you. And thanks to Greta, who kept this discussion flowing when I was sick.

I’m going to hand it over to Greta…see you again in a few :)

Journey through the Cards

It’s been very entertaining reading this book with you all. I have to admit that there were times when I just wanted to scream at Ethan and say “DUDE! NO!” but then there were times when I just wanted to let the boy swoon me. Here’s to hoping he just gets more dreamier in the books to come.

As most of you know I’m not your run of the mill kind of girl. When I noticed that Amma was into Tarot I have to admit that I squeed like a fan girl and jumped up and down with my Magic 8 Ball. So, I thought that I would just for the fun of it try to line some of the characters up from the Major Arcana just to see if it was possible if maybe… just maybe… the dear authors of Beautiful Creatures outlined the book or came up with some characters traits from one or two of the 22 cards in the deck.

Fool: This would be the starting point. The first card of a deck and the beginning of the story. With one foot about walking off a cliff he’s full of dreams. Remind you of anything?

Magician: Just as his names says this dude knows his Magick. I would almost bet money that this man would be Macon. He’s wise and powerful and just screams UNCLE to me.

High Priestess: The first person I thought when I looked at this card was NOT Amma but Marion. The High Priestess possesses knowledge that she uses to guide you. This led me to believe that Marion was based on her.

Empress: This card is the MOM card. Most mothers can relate to this card but I don’t see Ethan’s mom in this card. I saw Aunt Del and Amma. The real MOMS of the story, in my opinion.

Emperor: You would think this card means DAD if the EMPRESS means MOM. Well, this card can mean that, I guess, but it’s probably means RULER more (At least this is what I’ve been taught). Someone you want to get behind and have LEAD you into battle. But who? Who could be this card? Could it be Macon? Could it be Uncle Barclay? I for actually don’t see a man… I see a committee and a bunch of teenage girls. This is where the DAR, Mrs. Lincoln, and the Savannah Snows of the world come in. Remember… some rulers just get sick with power ;) and where there’s power there’s normally people who want in on a piece of it.

Hierophant: This card doesn’t always mean religion but can mean CONVENTIONAL. I have always seen it to mean someone who gets in your way. Say HELLO to Mrs. Lincoln! and on the other side… say hello to RIDLEY!

Lovers: Need I say more?

Chariot: This card normally means INTO BATTLE and a struggle. To me that represents Lena’s 16th birthday. This card is also LIGHT and DARK like a yin-yang. This could either stand for Castor Girl loves Human Boy or perhaps going light or dark.

Strength: And so the lion fell in love with the lamb. This card doesn’t always mean HERCULES HERCULES! It also means digging down in your heart and going after what you want. I think this card represents Ethan and Lena’s forbidden love but it could also represent the first set of lovers… Genevieve and CW Ethan.

Hermit: This could be MACON or Ethan’s Dad. They both tend to keep to their own homes, but if you think about what this card means its about someone who is gathering information and information within. It’s someone you would go to when you are in need to be guided. It is a wise member of your family who likes to keep to himself. I think this card mainly represents Macon just as I believe the Magician could. But if you think about it… the Hermit is always shown outside his house. Perhaps this is when Macon showed himself to Gatlin when his niece had to go in front of the school board. It was time for Macon to spread the knowledge of what he knew to the towns folks. Oh gasp!

Wheel of Fortune: Right-side up this card is great! Happily Ever After and happy happy birthday. Upside-down and this card is a total downer. Let’s get emo and sulk in the corner. This card would be 16 Moons. What’s in Lena’s future? Does she get to blow out her birthday candles or does she get to burn fire out of her eyes?

Justice: The scales. Trying to make a fair decision. Should Lena just let Ethan go? Should Ethan just let Lena go? What to do what to do? I think this card would be perfect when the two of them had their first little tiff in the wintertime… then as we all know ;) It turned out just fine:)

Hanged Man: You can’t always get what you want. But you can try sometimes… and you just might find… oh there we go. The Hanged Man is trying to do the impossible. He is trying to achieve a goal that just sounds so flat out crazy but there he goes trying to get all Houdini on us. In my mind this card represents Ethan. He’s determined to keep Lena human when he sees all the signs that she’s a Caster girl and natures is just going to take its course. He’s a determined little bugger though. He’s not giving up. No matter what’s thrown at him.

Death: This card doesn’t always mean KAPOOT! It means change is ahead. If Spring didn’t fade away into Autumn then we’d never have Winter. To me this card is Lena. Once she turns 16 there is not turning back. There is change in the wind and you’re just going to have to accept it. It will be ok, though. Doesn’t the caterpillar change into the butterfly? Lena just needs to find her wings.

Temperance: I’ve always had trouble with this card. The best possible meaning I could find for it was ‘A way of balancing opposites’. Lena and Ethan, Genevieve and CW Ethan, Macon and Amma, and even Link and Mrs. Lincoln. This book was full of opposites! But what is it that Paula Abdoul said when she danced with that wolf? I can’t recall….

Devil: Oh God you DEVIL!! Insert Sarafine my little lovely ducks! For this would be where she promises Lena that she can make Ethan her little muffin man. With the DEVIL card you are always reaching for something that is so OH LA LA but OH NO NO NO! Which do you chose? And can you get to it? Will your chains let you reach far enough? Or are you willing to sell you soul to get your grubby little hands on it?

Tower: This card is freaking scary! I mean HELLOS! It’s people falling out of a tower!! Turmoil and crash crash boom!! In my opinion this card are all the dreams that Ethan and Lena share.

Star: This card is hope and healing. This card is in my mind Ethan’s Mom. It would also be a great card for little Ryan.

Moon: Hello Boo. I know there is more to you than just a Caster dog. There has to be. This is also a dream card… and not in the SLEEPING BEAUTY sort of way. In the “I dreamt I was drowning” way.

Sun: This is a happy card. You want this card. This gives you your HAPPILY EVER AFTER. This could be anything from Ethan and Lena’s first kiss to Lena surviving her claiming. But perhaps… it has to deal with Ethan’s mother’s ring…. Lena wanted to keep it safe after her necklace broke. I’m sure that meant the world to Ethan. I’m sure his heart felt the heat of the sun. All that was needed to make this story complete were a couple of white horses and a kiss through a carriage window. You know it’s coming kids. At least I hope it is ;)

Judgement: The best way to describe this card is closing one door and opening another. This is the stroke of midnight. This is when Lena claimed herself. You have to take the good with the bad. You have to learn to go on. You have to adapt. Lena is now has to learn to live without Macon and live as a claimed woman. This card also means hard decisions and that was a doosey to make. Light or Dark, Lena? Which is it going to be? Who are you going to kill? Now, that’s a BIG decision!! This card can also mean Rebirth (which is my favorite meaning for it). I think that when Lena awoke with two different colored eyes that was her rebirth.

World: This one means so many things that all I can say is…. there are a lot of unanswered questions and I can’t wait to read the next book to see if it answers any of them.

It’s been fun kids! I’d like to thank Fragile for letting me help host this. It’s was very interesting to hear all our different thoughts and opinions on each section. Thanks for having me.

What Did You Think?

When I read Beautiful Creatures, I knew it was a book all my Twi friends would love. I’m so glad to see how many picked up the book and got sucked into it just as much as I did.

As a Southern girl, BC really resonated with me. It definitely reflected life in a small Southern town, and I just LOVE the idea that Ethan speaks with a (probably slight) Southern accent :) After Twilight, it was really nice to read a book from a male POV, and Ethan is just super swoony to boot. And Lena…where do I start? She so strong and conflicted, and her mental conversations with Ethan throughout the book are awesome. I’m anxious to see how Lena deals with losing Macon. It’s bound to put a strain on her relationship with Ethan.

So, what did you like about the book? What are you looking forward to in the sequel.

Thought it was a great book. Really kept you guessing. Can’t wait for the next one to come out. I’m not sure what to expect to happen next.
~ Michelle

I really loved the mystery of this story. I’m really interested in the parts still unsolved, particularly Ethan’s mom’s role, her death and the significance of the portrait of Genevieve’s Ethan in our Ethan’s father’s study.
~ One Pushy Fox

This is silly but I liked the descriptions of food the best. I was really sick when I was reading the first book and I may be in hospital when the second one is released, so I’m hoping the next one will be just as good to take my mind off things!
~ Lauren

Favorites – There was quite a bit I liked about this book – the characters were developed well, the mythology (while still fuzzy in spots) was intriguing, and it’s hard not to root for star-crossed lovers, especially when they’re echoing another pair of doomed lovers. I think my favorite thing remains Ethan, however. I love that we viewed this story through his POV (primarily), and he was a sympathetic character that I was rooting for all the way. I’m intrigued to see where the series will go from here – although we’ve passed the 16th moon, it’s clear there’s still a lot more to Lena and Ethan’s story. I hope we’ll see more about the Casters and how they function, learn more about Ethan (and his mother – I still think there’s a story there), and of course how Lena and Ethan will move forward knowing the limits of their relationship.
~ SophiaAnne

I liked at lot that Ethan here was the strong part, a guy who would do anything to save the girl he loves. That’s beautiful. And this against everyone, he didn’t loose focus. It was refreshing reading a Guys POV, since most of the stories are writing from a girls POV. I love about the book, that Dark and Light – Good and Bad are not clear cut here. Look at Macon: for me, he was somehow in between. We have a grey zone here that makes the story more interesting. Also Lena, he’s not all sunshine!! She will have great power and just started to explore her powers and I have the suspicion that she will do some shocking things in the upcoming books, it’s just a feeling though and she will need Ethan to get her back.

I felt a bit lost at the end of the book to be honest, I think this was before I realized that there is sequel and I just wanted to scream at the book!!! But fortunately we get more, unfortunately we have to wait!!!!
I’m excited for the next books and I hope they will prove me wrong and get Macon back! I’m curious about how Lena and Ethan will be able to be together since this is apparently NOT possible.

And: What’s up with Ethan , was it he? And what role does his mom plays?

But I fear that we will not get all answers in the next book, since there will be 3 more books until we (hopefully) get our happily ever after…

Oh and you know what I also loved about the book? It’s not the book itself, it’s again all of us discussing one book that brings us again together and this is wonderful. Apart from that the two lovely authors are just wonderful and I still find it awesome to interact with them in Twitter, this brings such a book even closer to my heart, if that makes any sense. ;)
~ Mrs. Vanquish

I loved the magic of the book! It was very different from any book I have ever read, in a good and refreshing way!

I am totally looking forward to seeing how Lena & Ethan’s relationship grows and how they are going to get around the whole physical aspect of being together. I am looking forward to seeing ultimately how Lena turns (hoping for Light) and hearing more about whether Ethan or his mother had special powers.
~ MyTwilife

I’m a complete sap, thus I heart Ethan and Lena like whoo-hoo plus I’m a huge fan of the lack of a love triangle in this beautiful story. I also adored the rich Southern background and the brilliant cast of characters. Overall, I’m just ready to jump right back into Lena and Ethan’s story and learn where they go next and hope against hope that one day they will be able to be together without fear of a claiming or poor Ethan’s heart stopping! And that Ethan sees all those places on that map of his! And maybe that is dad could get better?! And what if *slaps hand over mouth*
~ Cutie

I loved the ‘culture’ of this book – all the magic and the idea of it. There are still so many questions to be answered, and hopefully the next book will address them. And, I really want these 2 kids to fall harder into love…..
~ uhyesplease

This was the first of the supernatural- fantasy based books I have read that was written from a male POV. It was a nice change to read a story where the main character is strong willed and determined throughtout the entire book. I’m looking forward to learning more about Ethan’s Mom. I really would like to know how she was entangled in the world of Casters. I would also like to see Ethan’s father break out of his funk and participate in Ethan’s life. Maybe Ridley’s attempted murder of him will snap him out of it?
~ Heather (Call of Duty Widow)

BC Giveaways

Remember the BC giveaways we’ve been pimping for the last several weeks? Well, there are winners!!

Let’s Ride the Vanquish BC Bracelet Giveaway: bierbeck

Bewitched Bookworms Signed BC Giveaway: nebilet

Congratulations to the winners!

But we’re not done yet! My super secret surprise? I have two copies of the Twilight graphic novel I’m giving away: one to a guest poster and one to a commenter.

It started with the list. For each time someone commented, they got another entry in the commenter giveaway.

Then I cut all the squares out and folded them up and threw them in a hat. This hat to be specific:

The first group I picked a name from was the guest posters, and you know who’s name I picked?

Woohoo!! Congratulations Ruby!!

Then, I picked a name from all the commenters. I thought it was awesome that one of the most faithful commenters was the winner:

Woohoo!! Congratulations SophiaAnne!!

The End?

In the next few months, there will be two great book discussions to participate in:

Annie’s Eclipse book discussion starts in April @ The Danger Magnet

Cutie’s Hush, Hush book discussion starts in July @ Super Secret Twilight Blog

I encourage you to join in on these discussions. Both ladies have hosted awesome discussions in the past, and I know these upcoming discussions will be just as great!

But what about the next Caster Chronicles book?

On October 26th, the next book in the Caster Chronicles will be released. You can already pre-order Beautiful Darkness at Amazon, and I was THRILLED when I read the description:

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

You know what that means, don’t you? That’s right! Return to this blog for a Beautiful Darkness book discussion in November!!

Again, thanks everyone for participating in the book discussion, posting about it on their blogs, and pimping it on Twitter. Kami and Margaret also followed the discussion, and I know they appreciate everyone’s love for the book, Ethan, and Lena :)

~ by fragile little human on 28 March 2010.

5 Responses to “Beautiful Creatures Discussion Wrap-up”

  1. Fabulous recap, ladies!!!

    Greta, I loved the whole tarot card comparison. That was informational and just plain awesomesauce!!!

    And fragile, it was so nice of you to give away those graphic novels!!! Very sweet!

    WOOT twi-community!!!

  2. What a lovely Recap !!!! Awesome!
    You know: The Emperor, the card you picked was in German, just wanted to let you know hehe.
    Girls. it was tons of fun discussing and I’m so for sure back in November to discuss the next book.
    See, not only Twilight keeps us all together – we can find other things!

  3. I just wanted to say thanks to all of the people who worked on this recap. You all did a fantastic job. This was one special book and it hooked me by the third page. I am looking forward to your other book recaps.

    It amazes me that Twilight “restarted” my love of reading and I am always amazed at all the people in the internet world that have the same interest in reading as I do.

    Keep up the great work, girls……Looking forward to the next novel recap.

  4. I come back from an exhausting work trip, finally get to catch up on my fun email, and find this awesomeness – a fantastic wrap up post, and I won something? Wow! That’s so cool – I never win anything!

    Thank you so much for hosting this discussion – I fell in love with Beautiful Creatures when I started listening to the audiobook, and it’s been wonderful to see other reactions and thoughts on the book. I’m so excited to hear there will be one for the sequel – I can’t wait. And thanks for all your hard work – I know putting this together each week isn’t easy, but you did a great job!

  5. [...] 3/28/2010: Wrap-up Post Post by fragile and Greta [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

