My weakness for adorkable men

If you’re a regular at Random Acts of Rob (RAoR) or a Rob fan in general, the term adorkable is not new to you. But, just in case you’re neither, adorkable is someone so dorky, they’re adorable. Get it: adorkable? Yeah, so we’re not the most mature bunch.

One of a million pictures of adorkable Rob. Actually, I believe any picture containing the beanie is automatically considered adorkable.

One of a million pictures of adorkable Rob. Actually, I believe any picture containing the beanie is automatically considered adorkable.

I realized recently that I have a long history of weakness for adorkable men. Part of it is a appreciation for someone who doesn’t take himself oh-so-seriously all the time and has a sense of humor. Part of it is that I’m a total geek/dork myself. All that stuff about opposites attracting is bullshit. Dorky women want dorky men. Some examples:

Dave Matthews adorkable? Come on, have you seen the man dance?!

Dave Matthews adorkable? Come on, have you seen the man dance?!

Before I was old, married, and claustrophobic, I would take 2-3 trips, usually solo, each summer to see Dave Matthews Band. My favorite road trip: two shows in North Carolina and one at the amphitheatre in Nashville, all in one Labor Day weekend. My favorite show: another amphitheatre, this one in Birmingham, Alabama, where it rained through the first half and they sang every song they had with the words “rain,” “water,” or “mud” in it. I love their music, and adorkable Dave Matthews makes it so much better.

Geek: check. Hair in eyes: check. Out of place track jacket: check.

Geek: check. Hair in eyes: check. Out of place track jacket: check.

Then there’s geek adorkable. When I met my husband, TechTV was still on the air, and he watched it every stinkin’ day. He had a huge crush on Megan Morrone, who was one of the resident chicks on the Screen Savers. Now, I’m a computer programmer and a major geek, but the only thing that made watching that show every stinkin’ day remotely bearable was the adorkable guys on it. One of them was Kevin Rose, who is now a host on the diggnation video podcast among other things (like founder of a multi-million $ company, etc.). If you’ve ever watched him get drunk on a diggnation live show, the alcohol tends to make him more adorkable.

But I saved the best for last.
Nope, not his picture. All I need him to do is see his picture and figure out Im the one writing this blog. Yeah, like the whole TechTV/Megan Morrone thing wont give it away.

Nope, not his picture. All I need him to do is see his picture and figure out I'm the one writing this blog. Yeah, like the whole TechTV/Megan Morrone thing won't give it away.

If anything proves my weakness for adorkable men, it’s that I married DH. He’s a bigger geek than I am, if that’s possible, and he’ll basically say anything or do anything to make someone laugh. He’s a total flirt, too. But, before you get all excited trying to figure out how to get his number, he’s a total slob, makes you late whereever you go, and insists on watching really gross horror movies with the volume up too loud. Oh, yeah, and his wife knows how to shoot 😉

Update: Looks like I’m not the only one with adorkable on the brain; RAoR has a whole slew of adorkable Rob pics in their post this AM.

~ by fragile little human on 14 June 2009.

4 Responses to “My weakness for adorkable men”

  1. Great minds think alike this morning LOL

    Sexiest trait in a man def a “sense of humour”. I looove adorkable men.
    Thanks for the shout out. ❤ JAG

  2. Your blog is hilarious. I was not familiar with the term adorkable, but I definitely think Kevin Pereira from Attack of the Show (on G4TV) falls into this category.

    • Thanks! Oh, he was on Screen Savers with Kevin Rose at the end, wasn’t he? I also liked Patrick Norton (who’s on Systm now) and Alex Albrecht (who’s on diggnation with Kevin Rose). My husband views G4TV as the great Satan who ruined TechTV, so we don’t watch it anymore.

Leave a Reply

 
