Thank you to the Cuties (and everyone else, too)

(Source)

If you recall, I posted a little entry in Mr. Cutie’s Giveaway @ SSTB. I really entered mainly to see if I could gain Mr. Cutie’s approval and asked, if somehow I managed to win, that a contribution be made to the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).

Imagine my shock when not only did I gain Mr. Cutie’s approval but he and Cutie granted my request and made a donation to CCFA. While I joke a lot, this touched me greatly, and I wanted to thank them both for their wonderful gesture. You both are the wonderment.

What’s is CCFA?

The CCFA is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to supporting Crohn’s and colitis patients and funding research to find a cure for the diseases. 83% of the funds raised by CCFA go straight to program services, including medical research. In 2007 alone, they invested $16 million in medical research. They also sponsor patient support groups and summer youth camps for patients all over the United States.

What is Crohn’s Disease?

Crohn’s disease is a chronic, incurable disease of the digestive system. While colitis affects only the colon, the inflammation of Crohn’s disease can affect any part of the digestive system, mostly commonly affecting the small intestine and colon. The cause of Crohn’s is unknown, although the prevailing theory is that it is the result of a person’s own immune system attacking the digestive system. While medications can help control the disease, they do not cure it, and 66-75% of Crohn’s patients will require surgery.

Why does fragilelittlehuman support the CCFA?

Simple: I have Crohn’s disease. I was diagnosed 17 years ago when I was in my early 20s. I’ve taken practically every medication approved for CD treatment, and I’ve had five surgeries. Even so, there are many patients, especially children, that are MUCH sicker than I’ve ever been. I always know, however, that researchers, mainly sponsored by the CCFA and national organizations in other countries, are working tirelessly to find effective treatments and maybe even discover the cause and find a cure. I’ve supported CCFA for years, and they are great people who really care about those of us who live with CD or colitis.

What’s this about thanking everyone else?

Dont fuck with uhyesplease, thats all Im sayin.

Don't fuck with uhyesplease, that's all I'm sayin'.

Every once in a while, I get discouraged (like, when the doctor won’t let me have my infusion…but I digress), and I post pissy things on Twitter like this:

Dear Crohn’s disease: Fuck you and the horse you rode in on

All my lovely Tweeples are always there to pick me up, threaten to junk kick Crohn’s, and basically end my latest pity party. I LOVE YOU GUYS, EVERY FUCKING ONE OF YOU! You just don’t know how much y’all help me get through the bad days, and I thank you for it *big wet kiss*

~ by fragile little human on 26 September 2009.

7 Responses to “Thank you to the Cuties (and everyone else, too)”

  1. I think its wonderful that the cuties as cute as they are did that for you. They are truly wonderful wonderful wonderful cuties.. *hugs cutie big & winks at mr cutie*

    I have a friend who has CD but she never talks about it much. She was diagnosed with it a few years ago. I didn’t really read up on it until I found out you had it..

  2. Can I give a “Thanks” back? Since I´m a biologist and also educated in medical basics I heart some time ago in twitter about you having Crohn´s. I was not sure if you really want to talk about it. But since we are all growing so much more together in the last weeks (at least I feel it like this) I just want to know you better and this post helped!

    Supporting research is so important and I can show you the other site – meaning of the people who actually do research. When you are working in such a lab you not only need ideas to come up with, you need simply and plainly money. Research is expensive, and when I look at labs with a big success they are not only super smart and intelligent but also have a lot of money. It´s not like your IQ helps alone … It is sad but true!

    Thanks for sharing your story, and thanks the Cutie´s for support – well, all of you are simply a wonderment!

  3. You know I’ll do it…..true story. When I was 10, this older kid was picking on my brother and I kicked him right in the crotch with a big ole pair of moonboots on. Yep, I have a track record with this sort of thing. That bully went down like a sack of bricks! I also punched another kid for also picking on a friend of mine. Right in the face. Damn right – I’m like a superhero.

    So, Crohn’s – take this as your final warning.

    Love ya, twisister!

  4. *sniffles* fragile, what we did was nothing… truly. And I wish we could do SO much more. It is so very important to support research and non-profits. It’s important to be aware of those who are “suffering” or need help. It’s our job as humans to take care of one another. I fail at doing so daily! Thank you so much for not only educating us on this issue, but for making us aware of ways we can help. Truly… we are the thankful ones…

    I heart you, fragile.

    • I’z is really confuse… I’m Gary today I guess. 😉

      If you want to know the lesson of the comment prior to this one it’s NEVER comment when you have a MILLION things gong on. Just saying. 😉 We do love you however, whether it’s under the name Gary or not…

      How in the HELL did my name get changed to Gary???

  5. You are the bomb and the pic of uhyesplease kicking Crohn’s in the nads is priceless. True story, I kicked my brother’s front tooth out in anger (it was a permanent tooth…that’s how I roll). So, I could definitely kick out some teeth if need be.

Leave a Reply

 
