NaNoWriMo, here I come!

Sure, I’ve got five chapters of Breathe Me left to write. Sure, I’m still writing chapters for In The Blood. Sure, I work a full-time job.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have time to write a 50K-word novel during November, does it?

Beginning November 1st, I will write my first original fiction for NaNoWriMo. What the hell is NaNoWriMo, you ask?

National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down.

The story has been in my head for months. I came up with it after reading (what could very well be a fake) interview with Rob Pattinson talking about how his stardom has affected his ability to be around “normal” people.  Adding in my complete disdain for actors with bad Southern accents, I came up with Colloquial.

(banner by the wonderment that is Betti @ Betti. Music. Twilight.)

Aiden, an actor on a popular Australian TV show, comes to America to make his first film, but he quickly finds his Steel Magnolias-inspired accent doesn’t pass muster with the author of the book on which the movie is based. Sent to Alabama to learn a believable accent, he becomes intrigued by Callie, a pretty, convivial Southerner completely unimpressed by his impending stardom. As they become closer, only two things stand in their way: Callie’s past and Aiden’s future.

Does this sound remotely interesting to anyone?

Several regular blog and tweet buddies have asked about the new story. At the same time, I’ve realized I thrive off feedback from others. So I’ve decided to create a Colloquial blog to post the in-process story.

There’s only one catch: it’s a member’s only blog.

Since it will be an in-process original fiction that I may or may not want to do something with later, I don’t want it publicly available.  On the other hand, I’d really like to share the story as I write it with supportive friends who are interested in reading it in its unedited form.

So, if you’re interested in following my NaNoWriMo progress, please email or Twitter DM your email address, and I’ll invite you to become a blog member (it’s on Blogger, btw).

Also, all kinds of luck to my fellow Twihards who will also be participating in NaNoWriMo this year!!

(P.S. Don’t forget to tell me your husband’s non-Twilight obsession for Greta’s (erikasbuddy) Halloween post!)

~ by fragile little human on 27 October 2009.

8 Responses to “NaNoWriMo, here I come!”

  1. Wow…I am so impressed with you. All I have to say is this better not get into our Glee tweeting time! 🙂

  2. I’d never have the guts 4 nanowrimo – LOL.
    The Colloquial outline is already like a teaser itself.
    Can’t wait to read it. Betti’s banner=unique like always!!

  3. I love your stories. I love Breath me and In the Blood, so Cheeers for Colloquial!

  4. This is going to be great! I’m really excited for your new adventure.

  5. I heart you… *rushes off to email* =D

  6. I’m emailing you too!! I need help with the NanoWriMo. Does it have to be original or can I do a twifanfic?

  7. Good Grief Girly! I really don’t know how you do it!?!

    But yes yes yes!! I totally hates it when actors of yore try to fake a southern accent. Drives me batty and makes us sounds like hicky hicks.

    But GRETA! I thought you were from Ohio and got plucked down here by force? This is true… BUT!! I have come to accept that I am now southern (I’ve been here since I was 8. I think I can stop pretending lmao!) and should protect what I’ve come to love. This includes bad accents haha!!

    I can’t wait to see what you have to write. Squealdom!! OH OH OH!! Is it possible for the hero to go all HUGH JACKMAN-like in a pair of torn up jeans? – I just askin’ !! LOL!

    You’re new project sounds like fun!! I’ll be bouncing around like a kangaroo to read it 🙂

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

 
