A new one-shot inspired by my lovely beta

It all started with this:

I kid you not, she named this image "Fragile's Os pic that I am forcing her to write muhahahahaha.png."

To: Fragile

From: Greta

Muhahahaha!! I have found an idea for you!! I even have supplied your inspiration!!

One Shot idea for you:

Edward’s blind, falls in love, blah blah blah … attatched is your inspiration (but you do it from EPOV…. HE CAN’T SEE!!! omg! Has it ever been done?)

Ok… ROLL WITH IT πŸ˜‰ LOL!!

Yeah… I’m just trying to make ya work πŸ˜‰ and YES! I know you have too much on your plate πŸ˜‰ *grins and shows teeth and raises eyebrows… oh she’s so cute so you just drop everything and do it for her.

LMAO!! It was worth a try haha!

It’s still a pretty cool pic, huh?

I received this on my Crackberry while I was waiting in the parking lot of the local movie rental place for DH to pick out some nasty horror movie that I’d just ignore while I read fanfic.

I read the email and looked at the picture. In five minutes, I had the title and the entire plot in my head. That NEVER happens to me.

To: Greta

From: Fragile

Fuck me, that sounds like an awesome idea. If you’re serious, how ’bout you find me a song for it? Also, can you send me the link where you found that pic? Oh, and we are talking about E & B, right? It can be part of your Christmas present πŸ˜‰

Yeah, I don’t type too much when I’m sending from the Crackberry. That’s probably the longest email I’ve ever sent from it.

To: Fragile

From: Greta

OMFG!! Merry Christmas to me!!! LOVES IT!!

I’ll look for a song tonight πŸ˜‰Β  HEHE!! SweetNESS!!Β  and yes yes E and B πŸ˜‰

Oh, did I tell you that Greta is totally my fanfic music dealer? She’s constantly sending me songs, even for stories I haven’t started yet. I use a lot of them.

To: Greta

From: Fragile

I’m in the car waiting for DH to rent a movie so we can go to dinner. This is definitely much more enjoyable.

BTW, my idea is totally AH, and the title will be “The Beauty Within” (yes, I already have a title). Will you be terribly disappointed if it’s NOT rated M?

Okay, that’s all the info I’m giving you. Go find me a song πŸ˜‰

No, I’m not bossy, not at all *wink*

To: Fragile

From: Greta

LOL!! That’s totally if it’s not M rated!!Β  I don’t even cuss in my stories πŸ˜‰Β  So, that’s awesome!!!

Oww!! Likes the title!!

[She included two song choices, and, as usual, I picked the second one. And, because she loves Bush, they were both Bush songs.]

OWWW!! I am super excited!! OK!! Roll with it πŸ˜‰

The entire exchange took 43 minutes, and that included Greta finding the song for me.

When I first starting writing Breathe Me, I couldn’t find anyone to beta it. I wasn’t on Twitter much yet, and this blog was fairly new. I mentioned my story on another site, and Greta was kind enough to volunteer to be my beta. I was so happy, I almost cried.

Not only has Greta been theΒ loveliestΒ beta a girl could have, she is also a great friend. We laugh at how well we get along considering how different we appear to be to other people. But we’ve bonded over this crazy Twilight fandom, and I’d shank any bitch that messes with her πŸ˜‰

(Yeah, there’s a wink up there, but that’s just to be polite…I really would shank a bitch…)

So, wanna know about the story? Here’s the official summary:

Going to his brother Jasper’s company Christmas party, Edward hopes to spend time with the employee he’s admired from afar for months. Will his blindness keep her away, or will she find it allows him to see her in another way? AH/AU/OOC. Edward, Bella, Jasper, Alice, Esme, Carlisle. Canon couples.

Here’s a little teaser:

I looked at the dark blur that was my mother, and I could hear my father’s heavy footsteps come into the room and stop behind her.

“Esme,” he said, “leave the boy be. He looks handsome, just like he always does.” I could hear the broad smile in his voice. “Jasper and Alice will be here soon, and you don’t want Edward to be late.”

“You’re right, Carlisle. He is a handsome devil.” She laughed her tiny laugh, which made me smile. “He’ll be beating back the ladies tonight.”

I blushed. There was only one lady’s attention I wanted, and she was sure to be there with some suitor or other. “Yeah, I’ll beat them back with my cane.”

My father’s heavy clap on my shoulder was reassuring. “That’s the spirit, son.”

Oh, and Greta’s 2nd song pick that I chose for the story? “40 Miles from the Sun” by Bush.

Thanks to my darling ITB co-author onepushyfox for beta-ing it for me, and thanks to Mrs. V for doing an extra little read for me!

Hope everyone likes the story, but, especially, I hope Greta likes it!

I’m posting it on Christmas Eve morning, a little after midnight my time. I’ll tweet the link once it’s up.

(Wanna know more about my lovely beta? Check out her About Me page. Oh, and I updated my page, too.)

Update: Here’s the link to the story on FFn: The Beauty Within

~ by fragile little human on 22 December 2009.

7 Responses to “A new one-shot inspired by my lovely beta”

  1. OMFG!! CAn I get a little Blind Boy squee!! Oh you devil girl!! I’m gonna be tearing the wallpaper down before xmas eve gets here. Thank BOB I don’t have wallpaper because I’m sure I’d get yelled at if we did. DUDE!! I am soo excited!! It’s already brilliant!! And squee at 40 Miles from The SUN!! I kinda figured you’d use that one πŸ˜‰ It’s soo EDWARD isn’t it? And when it says “I’ll confront the stars tonight” Well, I was thinking Alice πŸ˜‰

    Oh tra la la!! I’m gonna go nutso over here.

    I am now curious what on earth people will think of our e-mails hahaha!!

    OH!! Claps hands!! I can’t wait!! I get 2 awesometastic stories in one week!! Can I be this lucky!! Can I? Well, I guess I can and OMG! I’m probably gonna cry after I read it.

    There… I’m counting that as your xmas gift. I never cry and I can already feel my eyes welling up.

    Freaking awesome!! OK… now I gotta tag you back on the twitter because you probably have already gnawed your nails to the gnub.

    SQUEE SQUEE!!!

  2. OH!! Dang it! It’s only been 34 minutes. Hurry up time! Go faster!

  3. Great, I’m just going to pour a little salt in the wound and say this story is SO BEAUTIFUL you are going to FREAKING FREAK!!!!!!!! That is all! πŸ™‚

    • OMG! Squee to the maxie max!!! Is it Christmas Eve yet? Let’s see I have 39.5 hours to go!!! I need to make me a countdown widget haha!!!

  4. How awesome is that!! I know Greta is squee’ing herself to death!! Doesn’t she just come up with the greatest ideas ever!! Can’t wait to hear your reactions of your squeeishness on the phone!!! Bye bye my lovelies!!

    • I know!! Can I get a Fan girl Squee!! HAHAHAHA!!! YEs yes!! I soo will be calling you on Xmas eve morn and gush-a-ghushing!! I iz sooooo excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Tots Fangirl squeeing right now, justsoyouknow. I can’t WAIT for Christmas Eve, like, I may be more excited than the kids at this point.

Leave a Reply

 
