Beautiful Creatures Discussion Recap – Week 5

SPOILER WARNING: I’m giving away all of the secrets for my assigned chapters of Beautiful Creatures. Don’t blame me if I spoil you and all of your fun, you’ve been warned!

Did everyone have fun this week? I know I sure did. I can’t wait to figure out what is going to happen next!! I mean what the hecks is happening? We clearly were left this week on the very edge of our seats!!!! I mean… OMG!! Really? Really? Were you on pins and needles all the way through up until the very end? Yeah baby! I know I was!!

Fragile and I would like to give many awesome thanks to Call of Duty Widow (Heather) for her awesome discussion post on Sunday. We loved it!!

We're not worthy!

Remember to check out her lovely blog and show her some love 😉

http://callofdutywidow.blogspot.com/

Now, let’s have some fun and dive into the recap!!

Who or what do you think kept the front door closed when Mrs. Lincoln comes for a visit? Why do you think it was a bad idea for Mrs. Lincoln to come inside?

Oh, the Mrs. Lincoln thing! Seriously at this point I’m wondering if she’s some sort of demon or evil Caster herself because she’s so freaking sinister here! And not being able to come in the house….was I the only one thinking about Vampire Diaries or Buffy? But that’s not a Caster thing as far as I could tell, so that messed with my Dark Caster theory. And then there’s no explanation after that, the scene just ends there. This definitely had me scratching my head and linking it back to the door to Ethan’s dad’s study trying to let him in. The house itself is actively trying to communicate with Ethan. What’s behind it? At this point, I still don’t know.
-One Pushy Fox

Ok MrsLincoln is bad! Nice statement hue? But true. I think that Ethan has some kind of supernatural feeling which is also why he can talk to Lena – in their head – and all these previous things which happened before. So he sensed somehow that something is up with MrsL and maybe therefore he couldn’t open the door?
The more I think the more stupid this sounds.
Or, it’s the former Ethan – Civil War Ethan ? Oh yes this could be it, he’s protecting young Ethan?
-Mrs Vanquish

I think that Ethan’s mom is the one that kept the front door closed when Mrs. Lincoln came over. I think it was her also that opened up Dad’s office door when Amma caught Ethan in there. I think it would have been a bad idea for Mrs. Lincoln to go into Ethan’s house because she’s just a grade A snoop and you really don’t want to give her any more ammo to play with in terms of gossip. Plus if it was GHOST MOM that was keeping Mrs. L out that really would have ticked her (ghost mom) off.
-Greta

Mrs. Lincoln – Ya’ll, Mrs. Lincoln was seriously scary. From every description of her before she sounded mean – but small town, self-righteous mean. That thing at the door seemed downright malevolent. And since we know that some Casters can shift form, I’m wondering if that was even Mrs. Lincoln at all. As to why Ethan couldn’t open the door to start with – I think it was probably the charm bag that fell from the door than Amma had put up – she’s been known to booby trap the house with her charms before and she clearly seems to know how to ward off evil things.
-sophiaanne

For one, I cannot stand that woman! I wanted to punch her in the face the entire time I was reading. Anyway, I thought it was some sort of thing that Amma created to keep evil out of the house! She is always hanging wierd stuff around the house so I just figured she did it. Plus when it happened it made me wonder if there were more to Mrs. Lincoln than just a bitter old housewife….
-MyTwilife

What do you think is going on with the dog, Boo Radley? Why does he seem to have human eyes and follows Lena everywhere she goes?

I have a theory about Boo Radley but it’s not something I can share until the end. I’ll just say this…he’s not a normal dog. And if that’s what a normal Caster dog is like, there’s a reason why there aren’t more of them about in Gatlin.
-One Pushy Fox

I guess I read a few times that this dog has eyes that look like a human, so I guess it might be Macon (did I say already how much I love Macon?) Maybe he’s a Caster shifter?
-Mrs. Vanquish

I have been wondering about this dog since we first met him. I thought that he might have been Abraham’s brother that wound up missing during the civil war when Gatlin burned and Ravenwood didn’t. And then I thought that Boo might be CW Ethan because I really think there’s something fishy going on there. I think that Boo follows Lena everywhere because it HAS to deal with either past life ETHAN or her UNCLE is just mondo protective of her. Someone in that family got turned into a dog. I mean the thing screams like a person!! That’s creepy!!
-Greta

Boo Radley – Boo seems like he’s Macon’s “watchdog” in a very literal sense to me – the way that Macon can know where and what’s happening to Lena when she’s out and about Gatlin, since Macon doesn’t seem to venture into the town much. Who knows, maybe Macon can literally see through Boo’s eyes – he’s a Caster dog after all!
-sophiaanne

I thought at first he was a human that somehow Uncle Macon changed into a dog or something…but then I just thought maybe he is just a dog with weird eyes that is suppossed to watch over Lena and “report” to Macon.
-MyTwilife

We learn the next verse of the song Sixteen Moons. What do you think the lyrics represent?

I love how this song foreshadows coming events and I think the third line is particularly telling, but I’ll leave THAT for later discussion. Here, though, I’d like to point out the last line, “Sixteen screams but just one hears.” I think that Sixteen is used as a moniker for Lena in this song and that it means that Ethan is the only one who can hear her, which of course we already know, but it’s almost as if the song is trying to tell them both that Ethan is the only one who can help Lena through this process. And I think it’s both beautiful and sad that Ethan has no moniker in the song other than “just one.” In previous chapters everyone from Macon to Amma to Lena herself have pointed out that Ethan is just another Mortal, but if you think about it, he’s not…even if he has no power (and at this point that’s debatable) he IS special…and he IS connected to Lena in a powerful, mystical way.
-One Pushy Fox

Sixteen screams but just one hears.
Lena screams – but only Ethan can hear it! Pretty sure about that, there is something about their relation which is extremely important. Maybe later, only Ethan can safe her from becoming Dark.
-Mrs. Vanquish

The moons represent YEARS… so therefore SIXTEEN MOONS is 16 years. So, I’m guessing that Ethan has been dreaming about LEna all his life and he’s the one that dreams her fears and he’s going to try like heckles to keep her with him. When you bind something you try to make it safe and the spheres… well…. that might be a clever rhyme or it might also represent dreams… like maybe your dreams are represented as bubbles? But then it can also mean the ritual circle. Like you’re trying to make everything safe from evil spirits but still… something is going to break through. And then… I think the last sentence or verse or whatever that’s called means… at the very end… it’s just going to be Lena and Ethan… no one else will be around to hear WHOEVER screams 😉 .. or maybe there will be some more matrix woosh woosh let’s slow down time but Lena and Ethan are still moving
-Greta

Sixteen Moons – I think Lena may be right – this verse does seem to be about Ethan. Their dreams are about her fears of going dark and he’s the one who can kelt with her and hear her. The binding of the spheres line? Not sure – maybe that’s a reference to something that has to be done – perhaps something with The Book of Moons, if they can find it?
-sophiaanne

Sixteen moons, sixteen years,
Sixteen times you dreamed my fears, (Ethan always dreams about the same thing Lena does…and her biggest fear is becoming dark)
Sixteen will try to Bind the spheres, (Maybe how Etan is trying to find a way to make everything work out?)
Sixteen screams but just one hears … (Ethan always hears Lean speak and scream in his mind! No one else does!)
-MyTwilife

Uncle Macon believes Ethan has power. Ethan can protect Lena and break through protection circles, he and Lena can Kelt, and Ridley was able to get into Ravenwood using him. Do you think Ethan is more than your average human? If so, what do you think he is?

I love this question, especially because even at the end of the book, the jury is still out on this one in my mind. Ethan is Mortal. I believe that much to be true. If he weren’t, the Greats would have told Amma SOMETHING about him, don’t you think? But SOMETHING is different about him. For the reasons you mention and for all the things that are happening at his house, there’s a power about him, almost watching over him. At this point in the story, my money was on him being a Caster, like it was possible to be one or become one by some way other than birth. That’s not my feeling by the end of the story, but we can discuss that then. *wink*
-One Pushy Fox

Hmm, I also strongly believe that Ethan is something else than a normal average boy otherwise all those things you mentioned cannot be explained. Maybe he has some Caster Blood inside? But diluted.. And I would never doubt Macon 😉
-Mrs Vanquish

I think that Ethan is a half breed. I think there is more to mom than we know. Mom worked at the Caster Library and gave the job to Mariain but we don’t know HOW Marian got the job. Did Marian get it after Mom’s death? Well, no, because Mom GAVE it to Marian. AND!! Marian says that there are OTHER things that go to the library that can only go out at night. This makes me think that the world is becoming more Sookie Stackhouse because there has to be more than one supernatural being in Gatlin (or the world). Plus, MOM is NOT from GATLIN so maybe she’s from a town that was populated by something else. I think that Ethan has that blood and that’s why he can connect with Lena so much. ALSO… he has that swoony CW Ethan blood in him that just matches up so well with his Mamma’s blood and HELLO PERFECT MATCH!!
-Greta

Ethan – more than human? I am seriously starting to wonder about Ethan. I have two theories, but the other relates to Ethan’s mom below. One theory is that CW Ethan is somehow the source of our Ethan’s power. We know Genevieve and CW Ethan were in love, and that she made an enormous sacrifice to try to restore him to life, sacrificing in essence herself and her future generations. Could somehow this Ethan’s abilities be some sort of karmic boomerang where he has abilities to enable him to save Lena from Genevieve’s curse as a result of what happened between the first set of star-crossed lovers?
-sophiaanne

I kind of thought he was more than human at first, but then I just wondered if Lena and Ethans bond was so strong that he was able to be so connected to her therefore break through a lot of the spells. It is definetly like they are destined to be together and that is a great power in itself.
-MyTwilife

Ethan finds out that Marian got the Caster Librarian job from his mother. Do you think that his mother was the previous librarian or does she have connections that would allow her to pick the new librarian?

When I read what Marian said, I only took it to mean that Ethan’s mother was the Librarian before Marian. It never occurred to me that it would be something else. And it COMPLETELY rocked my world. Imagine what a bombshell that was to Ethan, and he doesn’t even have time to process it! And it made me start to wonder all over again, why aren’t we being told about the “accident” that she had? Her death takes on a decidedly sinister slant in the absence of more information.
-One Pushy Fox

If my theory about diluted Casterblood is true, well then maybe he has it from his mother? Apparently his Mom knew about the Caster world, at least it seems like from what Marian hints.
-Mrs. Vanquish

HAHA!! I just kinda sorta answered that in question 4!! Ok… I think that MOM is somehow supernatural, herself. She GAVE the job to Marian. That means she was LOOKING to fill the position. It never says that MOM was the librarian. I think she’s a SUPE… and the only way ETHAN is going to find out is he has to ASK Marian… he just hasn’t done it yet.
-Greta

Ethan’s mom: I think that Ethan’s mom may have had connections that let her pick. Here’s my second theory about Ethan. Maybe Ethan’s not completely mortal. We don’t know much about his mother at first. She was a Civil War historian, from Savannah, killed in a car accident. Pretty straightforward. But there are hints that maybe there was more there than Ethan knew. She knew Macon Ravenwood. She knew about Casters. And then Marian tells Ethan that his mother hired her as the librarian. That could be because she was the prior librarian. But is could also be that Ethan’s mother was not quite human (whether Caster or something else), and that’s why Ethan seems to have unusual abilities.
-sophiaanne

I definetly thought she must have been the previous libraian. I wondered if she had some sort of supernatural power as well…maybe that is why Ethan seems to be more than the average teenage boy? Ethan must be really missing his mom now, wishing she were there to help him and Lena!
-MyTwilife

The four chapters that I have recapped are dark and serious, with bursts of humor painted in. What are your favorite lines from these chapters? I’ve given my favorites in the recap above.

For me it was this conversation from page 284:
Marian: “What did I miss?:
Aunt Prue: “Squirrels.”…”What do you know about ‘em?”

Ah yes, a question for the ages!

-One Pushy Fox

Ohh no clue to be honest but the one you pointed out: “Yeah, right. Choices and Changes. A Modern Girl’s Guide to Casting. My Mom Wants to Kill Me: A Self-Help Book for Teens.” is awesome!!! Well, what shall I say I love Macon like a lot!!
-Mrs Vanquish

“Maybe you don’t have to be a Caser to have power.”
“Maybe you just have to fall for one.” — page 273

“Ethan, these are our babies and they are just the sweetest things. They wouldn’t bite us. We’re their mammas.” —page 334

-Greta

Favorite lines: I have to admit, I think Link gets some great lines. I laughed at this one in 10.31 when he comes up to the cheerleaders in their costumes: “Hey girls, I thought we were comin’ as bitches. Oh wait, that’s everyday.”

And I gave a big awww at Lena’s projected line on the wall, “You’re not the only one falling.” Although for our little Romeo and Juliet, that statement just has to many layers to be totally happy.

And the Sisters just make me laugh, (I kind of have some relatives that resemble them). So Ethan’s little aside about Aunt Prue, “That’s why we put whiskey in her tea.” made me giggle.
And finally, poor CW Ethan’s dying words. Sniff. “I never believed your daddy when he said it was impossible for a Caster and a Mortal to be together. We would have found a way. I love you, Genevieve.” I hope Lena and Ethan can prove him true.

-sophiaanne

I must say that was an awesome awesome recap! The only thing that lingers in my mind is what on earth is up with Ryan? I for one do not understand what’s going on? Do you guys?

But what was up with the ending? I don’t get it! Ethan goes in for the kiss… the bed starts shaking, then rises up, and all the windows are blasted out, and then… Ryan has her hand on Ethan’s chest after the bed falls, Lena pulls a piece of mirror from somewhere???… and they say that Ryan is a healer? HOW? Was the mirror piercing Ethan? Was Lena sucking the life out of Ethan with the kiss? I just don’t feel like I know what’s going on at the very end.
-Greta

At this point, though, I still didn’t understand why Ryan was there and needed to heal him, but it all makes sense, once you finish the book and understand more about the nature of their relationship.

-Honolulu Girl

I guess that just means we need to keep on reading.

Many thanks to everyone who contributed to the discussion this week!!

One Pushy Fox, MyTwilife, Mrs. Vanquish, Honolulu Girl, and Sophiaanne

We lovers you big time!!!

Before we leave ya there is one more thing that Fragile and I would like to share.

One final item of note. Guess who is planning on going to the authors of Beautiful Creatures book signing this Wednesday? Well duh, me and onepushyfox! No one lives anywhere near me but her! Anyone jealous?

-Call of Duty Widow

I will definitely be back later to answer the questions but how SQUEE worthy is it that we’ll be MEETING Margi and Kami IN PERSON in THREE DAYS!!!!!!!!!! ARG!
-One Pushy Fox

And Uber yes to the max!! Very jealous that you and Pushy are going to the BC book signing!!
-Greta

And I’m totally jealous of the book signing trip – it turns out they were on my town, but I didn’t know about it until the night of and wasn’t able to make it in time. I was so disappointed.
-sophiaanne

Call of Duty Widow with Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

One Pushy Fox with Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Yes! Totally Jealous!!

Can’t wait until this Sunday when our guest poster will be the fabulous Mrs. Vanquish!!

Stay frosty my pets!

~ by erikasbuddy on 25 February 2010.

3 Responses to “Beautiful Creatures Discussion Recap – Week 5”

  1. Thank you Greta!
    This week was really a great discussion and … well I hope next week will get exciting
    🙂

  2. […] Week 5 (Recap) 10.31 Hallow E’en (p 246-270) 11.01 The Writing on the Wall (p 271-278) 11.27 Just Your […]

Leave a Reply

 
